Delayed, not Canceled – Upcoming Updates on Social Media vs. Forest Fires and Big Blue Balloons

For the past two years, I have been working mainly on an exploratory research project investigating the use of social media for fighting forest fires. That is, what information do social media contain that might be helpful for decision makers, fire fighters on the ground, and the public, and how can we utilize this information best. This project ended officially (and according to plan) last May, and my intention was to share a lot of information on this project on Geosocialite. For various reasons, this has not happened (this part not according to plan), but the main reason was that I wanted to share some data and interactive maps with you. Well, both plans have been stuck for a little while now due to institutional and corporate policies beyond my control. Sharing is not always easy…

I still hope that I will be able to show case some of the work before the forest fire season is over. In the meantime, those interested in the concepts behind our approach and what we implemented can have a look here: https://sites.google.com/site/geoconavi/home There you will also find some presentations and other stuff – we will keep on updating it.

Since I am now employed on another project (see below), I have to do any further work on GeoCONAVI in my spare time. Right now I am looking into machine learning for determining the topicality of some content, in other words, is some micro blog post about a forest fire or not. Some experiments with Weka on a set of annotated Tweets look promising, and I will share my experiences, insights and blunders soon here.

Another upcoming post will deal with some of the more entertaining aspects of my new main project (which is about Unmanned Aerial Vehicle data integration), and will involve a Big Blue Balloon…

Stay tuned ๐Ÿ™‚

2 comments
  1. conrad said:

    Great post! Can’t wait to see the results once they pass the red tape.
    Need help with the big blue balloon?
    Conrad ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ralph said:

    Now I’m *curious*! Looking forward to your posts.

Leave a Reply

